College Hockey's "Ice Breaker Tournament" Coming to Missouri St. Louis and Kansas City to Host through 2012

Kansas City, Mo.— (May 8, 2009) The Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) announced that the annual Ice Breaker Tournament, the season-opening event involving teams from four NCAA Division I conferences, has been awarded for the years 2010 through 2012. The 2010 and 2011 events will take place at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Missouri, site of the 2007 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championships. The 2012 tournament will take place in the Sprint center in Kansas City.

The Kansas City Sports Commission and Foundation is the organization awarded the 2012 tournament. The Kansas City Sports Commission is a privately funded nonprofit organization that benefits Kansas City through sports. Its mission is to enhance the economic development and quality of life of greater Kansas City through sports and promote the lifelong benefits of sports for youth.

"The Ice Breaker Tournament is a great event that provides Kansas City an opportunity to show off our passion for college hockey. It is an honor for the Kansas City Sports Commission to be awarded this tournament," said Cindy Smith, national events director of the nonprofit organization.

In just 17 months of operation, the Sprint Center has already hosted the Big 12 Basketball Championships, NCAA men's basketball first and second rounds, the NABC's "College Basketball Experience," and an NHL pre-season game. The facility has also been awarded an NCAA women's basketball regional and the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship for 2010.

The Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) represents the nation's six NCAA Division I ice hockey playing conferences. The HCA has sponsored the Ice Breaker Tournament since its inception in 1997 with 28 different schools participating in the12 years of play. The 2009 Ice Breaker was previously awarded to the University of Nebraska-Omaha.

The conferences and their commissioners are: Bob DeGregorio, Commissioner, Atlantic Hockey Association; Tom Anastos, Commissioner, Central Collegiate Hockey Association; Ed McLaughlin, Athletic Director at Niagara University, Interim Commissioner for College Hockey America; Steve Hagwell, Commissioner, ECAC Hockey; Joe Bertagna, Commissioner, Hockey East Association; and Bruce McLeod, Commissioner, Western Collegiate Hockey Association.

CONTACT: Joe Bertagna (781) 245-2122 (jbertagna@hockeyeastonline.com)

###

Ice Breaker Tournament History

Year Host Site Field (Champion in Boldface)

1997 University of Wisconsin Dane County Coliseum (Madison) BU, Clarkson, **Michigan State**, Wisconsin 1998 University of Minnesota Mariucci (Minneapolis) **BC**, Minnesota, Ohio State, St. Lawrence

1998 University of Minnesota Mariucci (Minneapolis) **BC**, Minnesota, Unio State, St. Lawrence

1999 University of Denver Magness Arena (Denver) **Denver**, Notre Dame, Providence, Union

2000 University of Michigan Yost Arena (Ann Arbor) Colgate, Michigan, **New Hampshire**, North Dakota

2001 University of Maine Alfond Arena (Orono) Bowling Green, Clarkson, Maine, **St. Cloud** 2002 University of Wisconsin Kohl Center (Madison) **BU**, Northern Michigan, Rensselaer, Wisconsin

2002 University of Wisconsin Kom Center (Madison) **BU**, Northern Michigan, Rensselaer, Wisconsin 2003 Michigan State University Munn Arena (East Lansing) **BC**, Findlay, Minnesota-Duluth, Michigan State,

2004 University of New Hampshire Whittemore Center (Durham) **New Hampshire,** Ohio State, St. Cloud, St. Lawrence

2005 Colorado College World Arena (Col. Springs) Air Force, Colorado College, Maine, Union

2006 Miami University Goggin Ice Arena (Oxford) Colgate, Denver, Miami, Vermont

2007 University of Minnesota Xcel Energy Center (St. Paul) BC, Michigan, Minnesota, Rensselaer

2008 Boston University Agganis Arena (Boston) BU, UMass, Michigan State, North Dakota

2009 University of Nebraska-Omaha Qwest Center (Omaha) Army, MA-Lowell, Nebraska-Omaha, St. Lawrence

2010 St. Louis Sports Commission Scottrade Center (St. Louis) TBA

2011 St. Louis Sports Commission Scottrade Center (St. Louis) TBA

2012 Kansas City Sports Commission Sprint Center (Kansas City) TBA