# The Kansas City Sports Commission and Foundation Selects 2005 Honorees

(*Kansas City, Mo.*) – The Kansas City Sports Commission has selected local collegiate and high school athletes of the year to be honored at the 33<sup>rd</sup> Annual Sports Commission and Foundation Banquet for Tuesday, June 21 at the Hyatt, Crown Center. The complete list of this year's honorees follows.

The 2005 collegiate and high school honorees are:

## Kansas City Collegiate Male Athlete of the Year Presented by Sportkc.org

Wayne Simien Basketball University of Kansas Leavenworth High School

#### Kansas City Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year Presented by Sportkc.org

Alisha Robinson Gymnastics University of Missouri Oak Grove High School

### Kansas High School Male Athlete of the Year Presented by Metro Sports

Mack Brown, Shawnee Mission North High School Ryan Highfill, Gardner Edgerton High School Dustin Moomau, Olathe North High School

### Kansas High School Female Athlete of the Year Presented by Metro Sports

Charity Stowers, Leavenworth High School Elizabeth Valenti, Blue Valley West High School Jessica Stewart, Gardner Edgerton High School

## Missouri High School Male Athlete of the Year Presented by Metro Sports

Louis Caputo, Blue Springs High School Brock Christopher, Kearney High School Mike Walczuk, Rockhurst High School

#### Missouri High School Female Athlete of the Year Presented by Metro Sports

Jessica Bush, Blue Springs High School Lisa Fahey, Park Hill High School Krishna Lee, O'Hara High School

Additional awards will be presented to:

## Special Recognition Award Presented by Propulsion Advertising & Design

Rich Zvosec Head Men's Basketball Coach UMKC

#### Earl Smith Greater Kansas City Amateur Sports Hall of Champions

Jamillah Lang Basketball Washington High School University of Colorado

Russ Morman Baseball William Chrisman High School Wichita State University

## Alex George Male Volunteer of the Year Presented by All Star Awards & Ad Specialties Joe Bessenbacher

# Alex George Female Volunteer of the Year Presented by All Star Awards & Ad Specialties Sydney Martins

### CASEY Award Presented by Global Spectrum/Kemper Arena

Anson Dorrance Head Women's Soccer Coach University of North Carolina

#### Special Achievement Award for Professional Athletics Presented by Sprint

Trent Green Quarterback Kansas City Chiefs

#### **Special Achievement Award for Amateur Athletics**

Darren Sproles Football Kansas State University

## **Special Achievement Award for Amateur Athletics**

Kendra Wecker Basketball Kansas State University

#### Joe McGuff Sports Journalist of the Year Presented by Ticketmaster

Jack Harry, KSHB-41 and 38 The Spot Wright Thompson, The Kansas City Star Mechelle Voepel, The Kansas City Star

"The 2005 selection process was a difficult one. The qualified high school and collegiate student athletes in the area is astonishing. Kansas, Missouri and the entire Kansas City area should be proud to have this level of talent at the high school and college level," said Kevin Wicker, Director of Local Special Events.

The 2005 Special Achievement for Professional Athletics Award will be presented to Trent Green, Kansas City Chiefs Quarterback.

The 2005 CASEY Award honor goes to Anson Dorrance, North Carolina Women's Head Soccer Coach.

A press conference with this year's honorees will be at 4:30 p.m. at the Hyatt Crown Center, in room Empire A. Please contact Lisa Stalcup for media information.

Contact: Lisa Stalcup

816-472-2022

lstalcup@360architects.com

or

Kevin Wicker

816-474-4652 ext. 228 <a href="mailto:kwicker@sportkc.org">kwicker@sportkc.org</a>