Press Release – For immediate release June 17, 2005

## The Kansas City Sports Commission and Foundation **Press Conference**

(Kansas City, Mo.) - The Kansas City Sports Commission will hold a press conference for the 2005 Athletes of the Year at the Hyatt Crown Center in room Empire A.

Prior to the Annual Awards Banquet, please join the honorees and the Kansas City Sports Commission for a 30-minute press conference on Tuesday, June 21st at 4:30 p.m. hosted by Dave Stewart.

The 33<sup>rd</sup> Annual Sports Commission Awards Banquet is Tuesday, June 21 at the Hyatt, Crown Center.

4:30 p.m. – Press conference and one-on-one interviews

5:00 p.m. – Cocktails & Silent Auction

6:30 p.m. – Dinner and awards banquet

The complete list of this year's honorees follows.

## **CASEY Award Presented by Global Spectrum/Kemper Arena**

Anson Dorrance Head Women's Soccer Coach University of North Carolina

#### Special Achievement Award for Professional Athletics Presented by Sprint

Trent Green Quarterback Kansas City Chiefs

#### **Special Achievement Award for Amateur Athletics**

**Darren Sproles** 

Football

Kansas State University

# **Special Achievement Award for Amateur Athletics**

Kendra Wecker

Basketball

Kansas State University

#### Kansas City Collegiate Male Athlete of the Year

Wayne Simien

Basketball

University of Kansas

Leavenworth High School

# Kansas City Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year

Alisha Robinson **Gymnastics** 

University of Missouri

Oak Grove High School

#### Kansas High School Male Athlete of the Year Presented by Metro Sports

Mack Brown, Shawnee Mission North High School Ryan Highfill, Gardner Edgerton High School Dustin Moomau, Olathe North High School

## Kansas High School Female Athlete of the Year Presented by Metro Sports

Charity Stowers, Leavenworth High School Elizabeth Valenti, Blue Valley West High School Jessica Stewart, Gardner Edgerton High School

## Missouri High School Male Athlete of the Year Presented by Metro Sports

Louis Caputo, Blue Springs High School Brock Christopher, Kearney High School Mike Walczuk, Rockhurst High School

#### Missouri High School Female Athlete of the Year Presented by Metro Sports

Jessica Bush, Blue Springs High School Lisa Fahey, Park Hill High School Krishna Lee, O'Hara High School

Additional awards will be presented to:

## Special Recognition Award Presented by Propulsion Advertising & Design

Rich Zvosec Head Men's Basketball Coach UMKC

#### Earl Smith Greater Kansas City Amateur Sports Hall of Champions

Jamillah Lang Basketball Washington High School University of Colorado

Russ Morman Baseball William Chrisman High School Wichita State University

# Alex George Male Volunteer of the Year Presented by All Star Awards & Ad Specialties Joe Bessenbacher

Alex George Female Volunteer of the Year Presented by All Star Awards & Ad Specialties Sydney Martins

## Joe McGuff Sports Journalist of the Year Presented by Ticketmaster

Finalists:

Jack Harry, KSHB-41 and 38 The Spot Wright Thompson, The Kansas City Star Mechelle Voepel, The Kansas City Star

-###-

Contact: Lisa Stalcup Kevin Wicker

 816-472-2022
 816-474-4652 ext. 228

 lstalcup@360architects.com
 kwicker@sportkc.org

Please note that some honorees will not be present at the Press Conference.