FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 30, 2007

CONTACT: Kevin Wicker 816-474-4652 ext. 228 816-522-3860 Cell

Kansas City Sports Commission and Foundation Names Athletes of the Year

KANSAS CITY, MO., - The Kansas City Sports Commission (KCSC) has selected area athletes to be honored at the 2007 Annual Awards Banquet. The banquet, in its 35th year, will be on June 19 at the Grand Ballroom in the Kansas City Convention Center.

In addition to the CASEY Award, Lifetime Achievement and Special Achievement Awards, the following honorees just announced: Kansas and Missouri high school and collegiate athletes of the year; sports journalist of the year; amateur sports hall of champions inductees; special athletic achievement award; and the volunteers of the year.

CASEY Award

Dr. Dot Richardson USA Softball Two-Time Olympic Gold Medalist

Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award

Jack Steadman Kansas City Chiefs Vice Chairman of the Board

Special Achievement for Professional Athletics

Will Shields Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas City Collegiate Male and Female Athletes of the Year

Travis Helgeson University of Georgia Tennis

Janet Anson Iowa State University Gymnastics

Joe McGuff Sports Journalist of the Year

Jack Harry KSHB-TV, 38 The Sports Spot and Sports Radio 810 WHB

Earl Smith Greater Kansas City Amateur Sports Hall of Champions Inductees

Rick Sutcliffe Judy Levering

Special Athletic Achievement Award

Arthur Murphy Special Olympics

Alex George Volunteers of the Year

Susan True Tom Busch

High School Finalists (award recipients will be announced at the banquet) **Kansas Male**

Nick DeBiasse Lawrence High School Football and Baseball

Luke Tanner Shawnee Mission East High School Swimming

Demetrius Bell Olathe East High School Football and Track & Field

Kansas Female

Megan Bickford Olathe South High School Volleyball, Basketball and Softball

Amanda Miller Olathe East High School Basketball, Soccer, Cross Country and Track & Field

Brittney Miller Paola High School Volleyball, Basketball, Softball and Track & Field

Missouri Male

Conner Teahan Rockhurst High School Football and Basketball

Scott O'Donnell Oak Park High School Wrestling and Cross Country

Derek Washington Raymore-Peculiar High School Football, Basketball and Track & Field

Missouri Female

McKynlee Westman Smithville High School Softball, Basketball, Soccer, Cross Country and Track & Field

Logan Thorp Blue Springs South High School Golf and Soccer

Michelle Jantsch St. Teresa's Academy Volleyball and Soccer

35th Annual Awards Banquet

June 19, 2007

5 p.m. One-on-one media interviews with award recipients

5 p.m. Silent auction & cocktail reception

6:30 p.m. Dinner

Grand Ballroom, Kansas City Convention Center

Kansas City, Missouri

Media welcome to attend - -One-on-one interviews available

About the Banquet: For 35 years, the KCSC has been honoring local athletes and sports advocates and is among the largest gathering of sports celebrities, civic and business leaders, top professional and amateur athletes, and Kansas City area sports fans. The banquet is the chief fundraiser for the 100% privately funded nonprofit Sports Commission. With a small staff, a growing membership, and a big agenda, the Sports Commission makes a big impact in our community. From bringing more health and fitness benefits to youth throughout the metro, to attracting and retaining pro and amateur sports teams and organizations in KC, the Sports Commission is improving the quality of life for individuals, families and businesses in the Kansas City area. For more information: http://www.sportkc.org